103rd Annual PMCA Convention Great Success

The 103rd Annual PMCA convention was a great success.  The 2017 convention was held September 18-20 in Wichita at the Hyatt Regency Hotel.

Convention activities started Monday morning with the President’s Sporting Clay Shoot at Michael Murphy and Sons in Augusta.  Shooters enjoyed lunch sponsored by HollyFrontier. Prizes for the best two teams were sponsored by Sinclair Oil.

Later in the afternoon at the Hyatt the Pinnacle Scholarship held its annual meeting and board meeting.  The PMCA C-Store/Retail Committee also met on Monday afternoon.

Monday wrapped up with the always popular and fun Supplier Night Party.  Door prizes, sponsored by the Kansas Lottery, were awarded throughout the night.  Following a fantastic  dinner buffet we were entertained as party goers played Dave Lewis’ Game Show Road Show Fabulous Feud, it like that popular game show with “Feud” in the name. Fabulous Feud was sponsored by KFSA Insurance LLC.   Susie Coleman, Dave Lybarger, Barry Powell and Patrick Lingg each captained a team of four other attendees.  We played three rounds with the winners of the first two rounds playing for the championship.  Dave and Patrick’s teams played the championship round with Dave’s team taking home the win.  Members of Dave’s winning team were Bob Alderson, Patrick Vuchetich, Jeanna Murphy and Sam Liby.  The winners were awards a NEW CAR, ok so it was just a matchbox car, but inside the car was a $50 bill.  Congratulations to the winners.

Tuesday started with breakfast, sponsored by Phillips 66 and speaker Mack Dryden, who entertained and inspired us with his compelling personal story and hilarious delivery.  Mack’s presentation was sponsored by Federated Insurance.

After breakfast attendees headed to either the Convention/Membership Committee meeting or Transportation Committee meeting. The committee meetings were cut short in order to make room for a special presentation on disaster preparedness by David Ploesser and Jerry Leemkuil with Federated Insurance. In the wake of the recent nature disasters in Texas and Florida, we thought it was important to offer our members the opportunity to learn what they should be doing now to prepare for the unexpected.  Our educational seminar “Pitfalls of Social Media” was sponsored by NACS. Todd Ramsey gave attendees a quick overview of social media platforms being used today and how social media can effect your business.

Our Salute to the Industry luncheon recognized the best of our association.  Kansas Soybean Commission was our luncheon host.  First awards to be presented were the Pinnacle Scholarship winners, Caitlin Lingg and Katie Lybarger.  Both are students at KSU, Caitlin as senior and Katie freshman.  Next up was the Employee of the Year award which went to Mike Tharp with Bridgman Oil.  The Employee of the Year award is sponsored by KFSA Insurance LLC. The Associate of the Year award went to Alderson, Alderson, Weiler, Conklin, Burghart & Crow, LLC and was accepted by Bob Alderson.  Our most prestigious award, the PMCA Distinguished Service Award was presented to Dennis McAnany, McAnany Oil  Company for his many years of service to the association.  Dennis has been a member of the PMCA board of directors since 1999 and served two consecutive years as president. Congratulations to all this year’s winners.

After lunch the PMCA annual meeting was held and the membership elected the following directors for a three year term: Mike Felts, Felts Oil, Winfield; Alison Leiszler Bridges, Leiszler Oil, Manhattan; Dennis McAnany, McAnany Oil, Olathe; Michael Murphy, MJ Murphy, LLC, Independence; Joyce French, 2S Inc., Emporia (Associate Member) and Patrick Lingg, John E. Jones Oil, Stockton.  Tom Palace spoke about the big win for the Association during the 2017 legislative session, the passage of House Substitute for Senate Bill 13, the “Beer Bill”.  He presented a special gift, an engraved beer mug to Bob Alderson, Gavin Kreidler, Dick Stoffer and Jessica Lucas for their tireless work on getting the bill passed.  While members were meeting the spouses visited the Museum of World Treasures and the River City Brewing Company.  The spouse outing was sponsored by Kansas Soybean Commission.

Tuesday meetings concluded with the PMCA Board of Directors meeting where vice president Brad Thompson assumed his role as president.  The PMCA slate of officers for 2017/18 are as follows: Mark Powers, CarterEnergy, Chairman of the Board; Brad Thompson, Bridgman Oil, President; Patrick Lingg, John E. Jones Oil, Vice President; Butch Stucky, Triplett Inc./24-7 Travel Stores, Secretary and Jerry Chaput, Mitten Inc./Mitten Travel Plaza, Treasurer.

Tuesday wrapped up with the President’s Reception and the President’s Banquet.  The reception was sponsored by Flint Hills Resources and dinner by Growmark Inc. Following a reception and delicious dinner we were entertained by comedian Mark Mayfield, sponsored by Phillips 66.  Lots of fun, laugh, desserts and drinks were had by all.  The President’s Night Bar was hosted by Coffeyville Resources and Valero Marketing & Supply and the dessert bar by Kansas Soybean Commission.  We ended with evening with the Grand Prize Drawing for $1000 cash, sponsored by Federated Insurance and the 50/50 Lucky Card Drawing which benefited Hutchinson AMBUCS.  The winner of the grand prize was Alison Leiszler Bridges, who donated her winning to the 50/50 drawing.  The 50/50 Lucky Card winner was Scott Zaremba, who donated his 50 percent back to Hutchinson AMBUCS.  We raised over $3200 for Hutchinson AMBUCS during the convention.

We ended the convention on Wednesday with the President’s Cup Golf Tournament at Tallgrass Country Club.  Golfers were treated to breakfast burritos before play started.  Lunch and the awards reception were sponsored by Valero Marketing and SupplySinclair Oil sponsored the prizes for the tournament. The weather was great and fun was had by all.

We would like to thank all our convention sponsors for their support.

Federated Insurance *
*PMCA President’s Council
Phillips 66
Kansas Soybean Commission
Valero Marketing and Supply
Growmark Inc.
Flint Hills Resources, LP
KFSA Insurance, LLC
Sinclair Oil Corporation
RJ Reynolds
Coffeyville Resources
Tank Managment Services, Inc.
Kansas Lottery
HollyFrontier Refining & Marketing Inc.
John E. Jones Oil Company, Inc.
Mitten, Inc.
P.B. Hoidale Co., Inc.
Seneca Tank
Western Petroleum/World Fuel Services
Williams & Company Consulting, Inc.
Alderson Law Firm
Broyles Petroleum Equipment
CarterEnergy Corporation
Haselwood Inc.
Kansas Corn Commission
Pete’s Corp.



This entry was posted in News. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply